Bayside City

Bayside City is a municipality adjoining the foreshore of Port Phillip Bay, extending from 8 km to 20 km south-east of Melbourne. Its area is 37 sq km and it was formed on 15 December 1994, by the union of Brighton and Sandringham cities and parts of Moorabbin and Mordialloc cities. Its foreshore suburbs comprise Brighton, Hampton, Sandringham, Black Rock and Beaumaris. The transport corridor is the railway to Sandringham and the Nepean Highway.

The Brighton portion is one of Melbourne's oldest suburbs, having high residential real estate values and a relatively aged population. Black Rock and Beaumaris, down the coast from Brighton, are mainly inter- and post-war suburbs, less well served by public transport. The foreshore beaches and reserves contain yacht clubs, life-saving clubs and bathing areas protected by indents in the coastline.

From Brighton to Beaumaris the beaches have been protected by sea walls and groynes, but seasonal sand drift by sea current denudes and overloads some beaches.

Bayside city's census populations have been:

Census date Population
1996 80,933
2001 83,504
2006 87,936
2011 91,814

Between the 2001 and 2011 census, flats, units, apartments and row houses increased from 27% to 30.7% of occupied dwellings in Bayside city. Variations between suburbs included:


Flats, units, apartments and row houses

as % of occupied dwellings

Brighton 33.3
Sandringham 36.8
Beaumaris  16.2

Further Reading

Eric C.F. Bird, The coast of Victoria: the shaping of scenery, Melbourne University Press, 1993

Brighton, Moorabbin, Mordialloc and Sandringham entries