Melbourne Central City

Scope and boundaries

Melbourne’s central city area has traditionally been defined as the 'Golden Mile', which is the checker-board survey by the government surveyor, Robert Hoddle, who in 1837 fixed a township of six blocks by four blocks. The boundaries were Spencer, La Trobe, Spring and Flinders Streets.


Subscribe to Melbourne Central City