Indigo Shire

Indigo is a shire in north-eastern Victoria formed on 18 November 1994, by the union of Rutherglen shire and most of Beechworth, Chiltern and Yackandandah shires. Its administrative centre is at Beechworth.

The name comes from Indigo Creek, which flows north-westerly from the Yackandandah area to the Murray River. Its upstream area is in a valley with forest on either side. The name of the creek came from the pea-like flowers found on a shrub which resembled the Indigo plant.

Subscribe to Indigo Shire